What is the purpose of The Daylight Award?

The Daylight Award is an international award that honors and supports daylight research and daylight in architecture, for the benefit of human health, well-being and for the environment. The award puts specific emphasis on the interrelation between theory and practice.

Why is it a dual award for researchers and architects?

Given the importance of daylight, it is crucial that the fields of research and architecture exchange knowledge and work together. The fields must combine theory and practice in order to maximize the benefit of daylight for humans and The Daylight Award is a step in this direction.

Why make the prize specifically dedicated to daylight?

Daylight is a free resource, readily available to all. It is a condition for life on Earth, from photo synthesis to the simple pleasure of life, or impact on the spread of bacteria and vira. It is in physics. In science. In architecture. To take advantage of its potential and prosper in its presence, we must inspire current and future research about the importance of daylight, and we must encourage tangible impacts across any and all areas of application.

Who has established the award?

The Daylight Award is presented by the philanthropic foundations, VILLUM FONDEN, VELUX FONDEN and VELUX STIFTUNG, established by Villum Kann Rasmussen. The foundations support a wide range of non-profit purposes, in scientific, social, cultural and environmental projects.

VILLUM FONDEN, founded in 1971, supports research in the technical and natural sciences, as well as environmental, social and cultural projects in Denmark and abroad. The foundation awards the Villum Kann Rasmussen Annual Award for Technical and Scientific Research.

VELUX FONDEN, founded in 1981, supports scientific, cultural, social and environmental projects that seek to advance an informed, open, inclusive and sustainable society. The foundation’s priority areas are active senior citizens, ophthalmology and gerontology.

VELUX STIFTUNG, founded in 1980, is a Swiss charitable foundation supporting science in daylight research – especially daylight & humans, daylight & nature, daylight technology – as well as healthy ageing and ophthalmology. The foundation supports high-quality research causing impact in science and/or society.

Can anyone nominate?

Nominations are accepted, internationally, from peers who have a knowledge of and interest in advancing outstanding daylight research and unique use of daylight in architecture.

The Award director actively solicits nominations from past laureates, professional organizations, architects, researchers and other professionals who have an expertise and interest in the field of daylight research and daylight in architecture.

Additionally, the Award director accepts individual nominations from architects, researchers and other professionals for consideration by the jury for The Daylight Award.

Self-nominations are not accepted.

Nominations for The Daylight Award 2022 were open until 30 September 2021. Nominations that do not result in the award are automatically carried over to the following year.

E-mail: nomination@thedaylightaward.com

What should a nomination include?

Nominations should include the reasoning for how the candidate meets the award criteria. For the category of Daylight in Architecture, please provide a list of a few relevant projects, together with a link to more detailed information including the photographs.

For the category Daylight Research, please list a few relevant research papers by their title, or include a link to the summary of each paper.

Please note that self-nominations will not be accepted.

What are the key dates?

Nominations for The Daylight Award 2022 were open until 30 September. The Jury will undertake deliberations at the end of 2021 and at the beginning of 2022, and the laureates will be announced on the UNESCO International Day of Light, 16 May 2022.

Who is the jury?

The independent jury, from six to nine recognized professionals, serve for multiple years to ensure a balance between past and new members. The jury is entrusted with selecting the laureates every second year. The highly acclaimed jury for The Daylight Award 2022 consists of:

Anne Lacaton, Principal of Lacaton & Vassal Architectes, Paris, laureate of The Daylight Award in 2011, winner of the EU Mies Award 2019 and The 2021 Pritzker Prize Laureate, associate Professor of Architecture & Design at ETH Zurich; Dorte Mandrup, founder of Dorte Mandrup A/S, Copenhagen, chair of the Mies van der Rohe Award 2019, Adjunct Professor at The Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts with frequent visiting professorships abroad; Marilyne Andersen, Professor of Sustainable Construction Technologies and Dean of the School of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering at École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, and laureate of The Daylight Award in 2016; Gerd Folkers, Professor for Pharmaceutical Chemistry since at the ETH Zurich, previously served at the Swiss National Science Foundation, director of the Collegium Helveticum since 2012, a member of the Swiss Science Council and President until 2019; Russell Foster, Director of the Nuffield Laboratory of Ophthalmology and Head of the Sleep and Circadian Neuroscience Institute at the University of Oxford, and laureate of The Daylight Award in 2020; Juhani Pallasmaa, Finnish architect, writer, teacher and practicing architect, lectured extensively across the world for more than 40 years, from 2009-2014 served on the jury for The Pritzker Prize; Koen Steemers, Professor of Sustainable Design, The Martin Centre for Architectural and Urban Studies, Department of Architecture, University of Cambridge, United Kingdom with an extensive architectural research assessment experience.

Will there be a short list of candidates?

There is no list of candidates and all processes in the jury deliberations are confidential.

Who were the laureates so far?

Since 1980, the VELUX Foundations and VELUX Stiftung have  rewarded the following with daylight awards; Jørn Utzon (DK) (1980), Henning Larsen (DK) (1987), Bob Gysin (CH) (2007), Richard Perez (USA) (2008), Peter Zumthor (CH) (2010), James Carpenter (USA) (2010), Lacaton & Vassal (F) (2011), Gigon & Guyer (CH) (2012) and SANAA (JP) (2014),Steven Holl (USA) (2016), Marilyne Andersen (CH) (2016), Hiroshi Sambuichi (JP) (2018), Greg Ward (USA) (2018), Juha Leiviskä (FI) (2020), Russell Foster (UK) (2020) and Henry Plummer (US) (2020).

How can the press get information on the award?

Press may contact Jadrana Curkovic, The Daylight Award Communications, at jadrana@thedaylightaward.com or by calling +385 91 1309 971

Where will the award ceremony be held?

The celebration of 2022 Laurates is planned for 16 May 2022 in Copenhagen, Denmark

Are there other events hosted by The Daylight Award?

Public lectures presented by the laureates and held at leading institutions will be planned for. Details will be announced on the website.

What do the laureates receive?

Each of the laureates receives a €100,000 grant, a formal nomination certificate and a glass medallion with inscription.